Local Harvest

Farmers Market

As I have expressed in previous posts I am new to this Primal life. I have been living Primal/Paleo for four months. As a newcomer to this lifestyle I continue to learn new things daily. My fiance has a lot more knowledge since he has been living Primal/Paleo for 2 1/2 years, but he allows me to explore and find what is good for me personally.

I am beyond thrilled with my new find. This may not be new to you all but I wanted to share in case it could be useful to anyone out there. I found the site:Β http://www.localharvest.org/Β πŸ˜€ On this site you can search your area for local farmers markets, family farms, etc. This is a great way to find local produce and grass-fed meats. I am thrilled to explore some of the farms near Tucson. It also made me realize that when we go to the farmers market on Sunday we should really talk with the “vendors”/farmers and learn about them and where they are located. Nothing seems more amazing than having a personal relationship with farmers that you buy your produce and meats from!

It also turned me on the idea of aΒ CSAΒ (Community Supported Agriculture). On this you pay in advance for a 6 or 12 week subscription and you go once a week and pick up your produce/meat/eggs/cheese from local farms. The disadvantage to this is that you are not able to choose what you get when it comes to the produce, but you know everything you are getting is locally farmed, organic and fresh.

 

Happy exploring everyone!

Leave a Reply

