Practice Yoga on Your Own

One thing I am learning is that you do not have to be perfect at something to do it. I haven’t gone and taken a yoga class since I was in college, but I LOVE yoga. I love the way it makes me feel, I love the results you get, I love how it challenges you mentally and physically all at the same time. As much as I love yoga it is super hard to get to yoga classes. SO I started doing it again in my home. I roll out my yoga mat in front of the TV and stream classes from YouTube! I use Apple TV so I can stream the videos to my TV, but if you don’t have a device that streams to your TV you can just set your laptop or tablet in front of you and hit the mat πŸ™‚ Β The search terms I use are: yoga, pilates, power yoga, etc.

This got me back into the practice of yoga. Once I started doing this I got addicted to the way yoga made me feel. But lets be honest…..watching a video on TV can get old. So I needed to change it up. Let me be the first to tell you that YOU can make up a yoga routine. If you are familiar with some yoga moves and the flow of yoga than you don’t need someone telling you what to do….just make it up yourself! It is fun! Below is the yoga routine that I made up this morning if you want to follow along….

YOGA WITH ME

5 Sun Salutations

sunsalutationfinal

Warrior Series:

From final sun salutation downward dog – inhale one leg up and with an exhale swing it through to a lunge. Lift up to Warrior One.Β Hold for at least 5 long deep breaths. Bring hands down to the sides of your foot – exhale back to downward dog. Float opposite leg up and as you exhale swing the leg up to lunge. Lift up to Warrior One. Hold for at least 5 deep breaths.

Repeat for Warrior Two and Warrior Three

warrior123-vinyasa-yoga

From your final Warrior Three drop your leg and return to mountain pose. Take a few deep breaths in mountain pose before lowering down into chair pose.

chair-pose

Take at least 5 deep and long breaths in chair pose before inhaling back to mountain pose. Take a deep breath and exhale down into twisted chair pose. Hold for 5 long deep breaths, inhale up to mountain, Take a deep breath and exhale into twisted chair pose on the other side. Hold for at least 5 deep and long breaths.

15511012082010030945

Back Flexibility

Next I wanted to work on some back flexibility, so I worked through the next few poses holding them and trying with every breath to breathe deeper into the pose.

Arching Three-Legged Dog

Arching-Three-Legged-Dog

Arching Pigeon

Pigeon

Revolved Pigeon

Revolved-Pigeon

Camel

Yoga_CamelPose_300x350

Half Wheel

yoga pose - female in sport clothes performing exercise

Wheel

wheel2-2

Eagle Twist

eagle twistH

Hope you enjoy this little yoga session and feel as amazing as I do after it. Remember that you are as strong as your brain gives you power to be. Don’t let yourself get in your own way. Happy exercising!!!

#ourprimallife #yogaathome #everydayworkouts

Leave a Reply

