9 Month Old – Stuck Between Milk, Puree and Solid Food – HELP

IMG_7833I have had so much fun the past 9 months growing and discovering life with my 9 month old son! I have two children, a 9 year old daughter and a 9 month old son. I had my daughter fairly young and honestly don’t remember the baby years too well. I worked a ton and it was a completely different experience the first time around. My parents helped out a TON, I always asked them what to do, how to do it, when to do it, etc. I mean who better to ask than your expert parents, right?!? They successfully raised me and my 4 siblings and we were all doing well……must have known what they were doing, right?! Well now that I am a little older and doing the baby years all over again after already raising my daughter for 9 years, I realize it is really just all a guessing game. You parent with the best intentions, an open heart, an open mind and cross your fingers that you are doing what is best for your little ones.

So far I have solely breastfed and homemade all of my son’s baby food. Recently he started to get Cheerios…..I am not going to lie, as much crap as I have eaten in my life growing up, I was afraid to give him something that I didn’t personally make for him. BUT he loves Cheerios, he loves the independence of picking them up and feeding himself, he started drinking water out of a sippy cup….all is good. I decided it was time to give him finger food options other than Cheerios. Instead of only giving puree baby food I thought it was time to give him steamed veggies and fruits in bite sized pieces. I was so excited to give him nutritious food he could pick up and feed himself, I got the go ahead to give egg yolks, cheese, yogurt, etc at his 9 month check up……I was completely ready for our journey to take a turn away from purees and into solids. But it came to a screeching halt when my son refused to eat basically EVERY finger food, other than Cheerios. Eeekkkkkk, it is so frustrating/discouraging. Does anyone else know what I am talking about?

My goal was to reduce the amount of times he was nursing a day from 6 to 4-5 and increase the amount of food he was eating. I was hoping that the foods he could eat as finger foods such as: avocado, egg yolks, cheese, etc would fill him up better than his purees do. But now all I have done trying to transition him is screw up his sleeping schedule. He went from sleeping 10 hours at night to now waking up in the middle of the night to nurse. UH OH! What did I do?!?! Eeekk….can I reverse this? Should I stick it out? I need some advice from you mom and dads out there, please!

Transitions are VERY hard! HELP!!!

#ourprimallife #babyfeeding #homemadebabyfood

One thought on “9 Month Old – Stuck Between Milk, Puree and Solid Food – HELP

Leave a Reply

